I went to bed last night. Good for me! My roommate and lunatic thing-maker roommate Hunter asked me

What would you tell me if you were going to die tonight?

“I love you, Hunter.” Then I went to bed and I knew I was a liar. That’s the default but it’s not what I would wish him. I think I’d actually say, “Have fun!” That’s way better. Imagine your friend dying and the last thing they told you was “Have fun!” What a phrase to carry the weight of death. Maybe that would make a good epitaph.

what kind of fun?

There are some things that happen that make obvious the preciousness of the moment – like considering dying. Nowever! It’s the “Holy shit right here right now I am!” realization that doesn’t use those words but feels them. It’s a flowing or being in the zone. Most things don’t work most of the time, nothing does if you don’t let it, but maybe try one that works.

  1. Do the Hunter and ask yourself or a friend what they would say or do right now if they knew they would die at time X.
  2. Pretend you just died and came back to life. It’s round two! What happens now?
  3. You’ll die in 12 months. Our lives are short as all gettout in comparison to most things we look at. A tree can be thousands of years old. Violently moving mountains do zero in a human lifetime. But our lives are also infinity! By definition your life is all of your experience. So to really see our lives as short it helps to shorten them radically.
  4. Yell
  5. Sweat like a Gatorade commercial.
  6. Admit it!
  7. Pretend you will live this exact life over and over for eternity. This is Nietzsche’s favorite idea he had.

    “What, if some day or night a demon were to steal after you into your loneliest loneliness and say to you: “This life as you now live it and have lived it, you will have to live once more and innumerable times more; and there will be nothing new in it, but every pain and every joy and every thought and sigh and everything unutterably small or great in your life will have to return to you, all in the same succession and sequence – even this spider and this moonlight between the trees, and even this moment and I myself. The eternal hourglass of existence is turned upside down again and again, and you with it, speck of dust!”


    Would you not throw yourself down and gnash your teeth and curse the demon who spoke thus?… Or how well disposed would you have to become to yourself and to life to crave nothing more fervently than this ultimate eternal confirmation and seal?”

  8. Stare at an object immediately around you for a minute. Set a timer. Look at the fucking details. How did this get made? Who shipped it to the store you got it at? How did it grow? How long did it take to become what it is?
  9. Read quotes. 
  10. Watch a video about space. 
  11. Krishnamurti! 

    Confusion implies choice and choice is the product of thought. Shall I do this or that – the “me” and the “not me,” the “you” and the “not you,” “we” and “they,” and so on, all that is implied by thought. And out of this arises confusion and from that confusion we choose; we choose our political leaders, our gurus, and so many other things, but when there is clarity, then there is direct perception. And to be clear, the mind must be completely quiet, completely still, then there is real understanding and therefore that understanding is action. It isn’t the other way around.

